Tags

, , , , , ,

While I was in NYC a few weeks ago I decided to beat the heat and head upstate to visit DIA: Beacon. Although my blog is intended to share information on Japan, I had such a wonderful experience upstate I want to share this lovely day trip.

The gallery space is absolutely amazing! DIA: Beacon is housed in what used to be the Nabisco box printing facility. Built in 1929 the building consists of brick, steel, concrete, and glass. You can find more information on the history and current exhibitions here.

I have never been anywhere that has such a unique, open, and clean space used for modern art. Once you step into the Richard Serra ‘wing’ it is an absolute humbling experience. I wandered in and out of the huge sculptures for awhile and enjoyed the wonderful natural light brought in by the wall of windows.

What persuaded me to take the day trip was the Sol Lewitt ‘Drawing Series…’ which in part has been on view since 2003. These are all wall drawings and have an incredible visual impact on the viewer.

I highly recommend making DIA: Beacon a priority if you are visiting NYC or if you ever need a fresh space to visit for inspiration. From Grand Central Station it takes a little over an hour to reach Beacon and then you can walk to DIA from there. I arrived around noon and stayed until 5pm, which was enough time to not feel rushed. Although once I left I knew I’d want to come back. Hopefully next time I’ll have ‘Cakes’ with m

